Fairfield's historic Ogden House and its kitchen garden are open to visitors on Sunday afternoons through the end of September. The mid-18th Century Saltbox-style house at 1520 Bronson Road is open Sundays from 1 to 4 p.m. It survived the burning of Fairfield by the British in 1779 and it stands as an exceptional example of the farmhouse from the period, according to Michael Jehle, executive director of the Fairfield Museum and History Center, which maintains the house.

Given to David Ogden at the time of his marriage to Jane Sturges, the farmhouse provides a glimpse into the life of a family of the "middling sort," the museum said in a news release, and it is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Fairfield Garden Club maintains the house's kitchen garden with symmetric raised beds typical of the period. The garden features vegetables and herbs typical of those used at the time. A bridge across Brown's Brook leads to a trail planted with native Connecticut wild flowers and shrubs

The house contains period objects, ranging from a silver-hilted sword to textiles and fine pieces of furniture with Fairfield provenance. New this year are reproduction handmade curtains in the bedchamber, replicas of what the Ogden family owned, according to the probate inventory of 1775.

The house and gardens are open Sundays through the end of September, except Sept. 2. Admission is $3 for adults and free to members of the Fairfield Museum and Historical Society and to children 5 and under.