Walk, bike through Fairfield’s history
Published 7:15 am, Monday, June 29, 2015
The tours — one for walkers and the other for bicyclists — will take place July 18 and 19.
The walking tour from 2-4 p.m. July 18 starts at the Fairfield Museum, 370 Beach Road. The guided tour around the historic Town Hall Green will showcase the people, places, and events that shaped Fairfield’s 375 years of history, according to organizers. Walkers will explore the site of the 1639 colonial settlement and find out more about Roger Ludlow, Fairfield’s Puritan roots, and the 17th-Century “witch dunking experiments,” among other historic events, according to the release.
The walking tour is limited to 30 people and online registration is required at www.julywalkingtour.eventbrite.com is required in advance.
The bicycle tour will take place July 19 from 2-4 p.m., covering approximately 10 miles, starting and ending at the museum. It will explore several historic Fairfield locations including the 1750 Ogden House and the Southport setting of the Pequot Indian swamp fight. Bicycle tour participants are required to wear helmets.
The cycling group is limited to the first 25 people who sign up at www.bikewalkfairfield.wordpress.com in advance.
Both tours will be led by Walter D. Matis, program volunteer coordinator for the Fairfield Museum. Fees for the walking and cycling tours are each $5 for museum members and $8 for non-members, which includes admission to the museum. Children interested in the cycling tour must be 14 years old or over, capable of riding 10 miles and must be accompanied by a parent.
For more information, visit www.fairfieldhistory.org or call 203-259-1598.