Falcons' Duncan captures Class L 600-meter run

Ludlowe's Jack Duncan won the 600-meter run in the Class L boys' track and field championships at the Floyd Little Athletic Center in New Haven. Duncan finished in a time of 1:23.79, just edging out New Milford's Richard Grudzwick (1:23.82) for the title.

Overall, the Falcons finished in 11th place with 11 points. Warde finished 20th overall with three points.

The Mustangs' Alexander Petrecca finished sixth in the 1,000-meter event with a time of 2:42.50 while in the 4x200-meter relay, the Ludlowe team of Michael McArdle, Brendan Gutierrez, Sean Gutierrez and Brett Williams, placed sixth, finishing in 1:38.50. And Warde's 4x800-meter relay team of Petrecca, Charles Keiffer, Jackson Stearns and Matthew Wojonski, finished fifth with a time of 8:28.90.

On the girls' side, Ludlowe finished seventh in the Class LL championships with 27 points, while Warde tied for 11th with 10 points.

The Falcons' Emma Koether won the 300-meter race with a time of 41.27 seconds; while Warde's Stephanie Sheehan won the 55-meter hurdle event in 8.71 seconds while the Ludlowe 4x200-meter relay team of Koether, Rachel Hurst, Miranda Rosenfeld and Emily O'Keefe, placed second in 1:48.42.

Ludlowe's 4x400-meter relay team of Rosenfeld, Sullie Desmond, Hurst and Koether, finished third in a time of 4:14.26 and the Falcons also placed in the 4x800-meter event as Desmond, Keegan Simonsen, Francesca Barucci and Brianna Auray timed in at 10:20.36 and Emily O'Keefe of Ludlowe finished fifth in the high jump at 4-foot, 10-inches.


The Notre Dame-Fairfield boys track team finished 24th in the Class S championships, totaling eight points. The Lancers' Christian Turner finished third in the shot put with a throw of 51-feet, 2.25-inches.

Notre Dame placed 11th in the SWC Championships as Turner won the shot put event with a throw of 51-feet, 4¾-inches. Other top finishers for Notre Dame-Fairfield were: the 4x200-meter relay team of Jeremy Tierney, Dillon Higgins, Adam Riobo and Jacob Rainey finished 11th in 1:55.74 while the 1600-meter sprint relay team of Luke Teitell, Jeremy Tierney, Adam Riobo and Gabriel Bittencourt finished 11th in 4:43.63. In the 4x400-meter relay, Teitell, Bittencourt, Tierney and Higgins finished 12th in 4:43.62.

On the girls' side, Lindsay Salvati finished seventh in the preliminaries for the 55-meter dash in 7.94 seconds, the 4x400-meter relay team of Jilliam Howe, Teresa Salamone, Lucy Grant and Danielle Armbrister finished 10th in 5:08.70 and the 1600-meter sprint relay team of Salvati, Katie Ciufo, Caitlin Lonegran and Grant placed ninth in 5:02.92.

The State Open is scheduled for Saturday at 12 p.m. back at the Floyd Little Athletic Center.