Four Fairfield Ludlowe wrestlers won individual titles as the host Falcons won their own invitational Saturday.

George Wales (106 pounds), Ben Batulanon (113), Marcus Sherrod (1290) and Ben Brzoski (182) call captured titles as the Falcons finished with 301 points, well ahead of runner-up Cheshire with 244.5.

Fairfield Prep was fifth iwth 101 points. The Jesuits got victories from Conor Ward (152) and Nick Crowle (285). Crowle was selected the Most Outstanding Wrestler in the event.

At Shelton, Liam Cumming won the 170-pound weight class, while teammates Mac Thompson (182) and Will Dimeo (195) were runners-up as the Shelton took second place at its invitational.

The Gaels finished with 165 points. Westhill, with four first-place finishes, won the title with 239.5 points.

Amity had a pair of winners in Austin McDonald (120) and Dan Grober (145) and a trio of runner-up finishes from Jake Cala (113), Jesse Cala (126) and Michael Cala (132) to take third with 154 points.

Masuk finished fourth with 134 points as Otton Velez (160), Salvatore Longo (195) and Mark Flader (220) all captured titles.

Also, Derby captured its invitational as Josh Russell (106), Patrick Miko (113) and Duane Jones (182) won titles.


Shelton Invitational

Team scores

1. Westhill 239.5, 2. Shelton 165, 3. Amity 154, 4. Masuk 134, 5. Greenwich 131, 6. Greens Farms Academy 103.5, 7. New Haven Co-Op 86, 8. Weston 70, 9. Norwalk 63, 10. Platt Tech/West Haven 45.


106: Matt Conte (Westhill) pinned Alex Margeotes (Greenwich) 5:06; 113: Mark Chien (Greenwich) pinned Jake Cala (Amity) :57; 120: Austin Macdonald (Amity) dec. Riley Grady (Greens Farms Academy); 126: Gavin White (Westhill) dec. Jesse Cala (Amity) 3-1; 132: Jeff Glover (Westhill) pinned Michael Cala (Amity) :28; 138: Kenny Agosto (New Haven Co-op) pinned Chris Mazur (Westhill) :53; 145: Dan Grober (Amity) dec. Evan Reisch (Norwalk) 4-3; 152: Nick Jimenez (Westhill) pinned Geronimo Valin (Weston) 3:03; 160: Otton Velez (Masuk) dec. Martin Choyban (Westhill); 170: Liam Cummings (Shelton) dec. Monir Kouml (Westhill) 13-2; 182: Grant Cucchissi (Greenwich) pinned Mac Thompson (Shelton) 4:21; 195: Salvatore Longo (Masuk) pinned Will Dimeo (Shelton) 5:23; 220: Mark Flader (Masuk) pinned Mike Vigliotti 4:20; 285: Daykwion Aleman (New Haven co-op) pinned Ronnie Griggs (Westhill) 3:52.

Fairfield Ludlowe Invitational

Team scores: 1. Fairfield Ludlowe 301, 2. Cheshire 244.5, 3. McMahon 204, 4. Windsor 111.5, 5. Fairfiel Prep 101, 6. Harding 98, 7. Central 97, 8. Enfield 80.5, 9. Staples 62, 10. Sheehan 27, 11. Lyman Hall 9.

Individual results

106: championship: George Wales (FL) pinned Joe Villano (Ch) 1:05; third: Erik Ravenberg (Ch) pinned Amir Phipps (H) 51 seconds; fifth: Ryan Therrien (E) dec. Austin Sherman (FL) 6-3; 113: championship: Ben Batulanon (FL) pinned Nick Martocchio (E) 22 seconds; third: Hector Reyes (H) dec. Nghia Nguyen (W) 9-3; fifth: Luis Vidal (Ce) pinned Andrew Lagrange (FP) 1:31; 120: championship: Marcus Sherrod (FL) dec. Bobby Clark (FL) 4-2; third: Robbie Perschino (M) dec. Matthew Freed (FP) 11-6; fifth: Connor Miele (W) won by default over Marcus Bailey (Ce);126: championship: Lucas Swan (Ch) dec. Paul Deorio (M) 5-2; third: John Maldonado (H) won by default over Marco Lopez (H); fifth: Jason Bruno (M) pinned Daniel Maya (Ce) 1:09; 132: championship: Jacke Cervero (Ch) pinned Kyle DeCruccio (FL) 3:01; third: Jeremy Sherman (St) pinned Ian Daves (M) 1:33; fifth: Jarred Hahn (FL) won by default over Ryan Zentner (FP); 138: championship: Dan Massucci (Ch) dec. Chase Lind (FL) 2-1; third: Artay Buster (H) dec. Jacob Silva (E) 15-3; fifth: Austin Reid (FL) won by default over Alex Brown (St); 145: championship: Jimmy Cappone (M) pinned Steve Bergeron (Ch) 36 seconds; third: Dan Mayer (Ch) pinned Michael Deramo (Ce) 28 seconds; fifth: Peter Clark (FL) won by default over Bryan Murphy (E); 152: championship: Conor Ward (FP) dec. Jarret Maloney (E) 5-0; third: Marcus Moss (Ce) pinned Andi Mino (Ch) 2:41; fifth: Ivan Baez (W) dec. Jacob Santo (St) 9-3; 160: championship: Josh Hunihan (Ch) pinned Alex Sullivan (FL) 5:00; third: Tyler Little (W) dec. Vinny Nguyen (Ce) 8-2; fifth: Kevin White (M) won by default over Angel Bauro (FL); 170: championship: Gabe Vega (Ch) dec. Joe Sokolski (FL) 9-0; third: Jose Rodriguez (M) pinned Joe Luzuriaga (M) 22 seconds; fifth: Jocelyn Campbell (W) pinned Javier Llatin (H) 1:22; 182: championship: Ben Brzoski (FL) dec. Bill Janes (Ch) 16-1; third: Nick Koury (W) pinned Jeremy Cruz (H) 1:15; fifth: David Martens (FP) won by default over Jose Mandujano (M); 195: championship: Jose Rivera (M) dec. Rob Crespo (W) 8-7; third: Jean-alexi Montaud (FP) pinned Deshaunte Longley (Ce) 2:50; fifth: Nathan Nelson (FL) pinned Robert Fumai (FP) 1:49; 220: championship: Jeff Petit (Sh) pinned Eric Cuatzo (Ce) 1:49; third: Daniel Kogstad (St) dec. Matt Garoffolo (FL) 5-1; fifth: Zach Holder (M) won by default over Clayton Ahearn (LH); 285: championship: Nick Crowle (FP) dec. Andrew Starr (M) 10-1; third: Jacob Jessen (FL) pinned Donyell Reid-Hall 48 seconds; fifth: Keith Benjamin (W) won by default.

Most outstanding wrestler: Nick Crowle, Fairfield Prep, 285

Fastest Fall winner: Jimmy Cappone, McMahon, 145, 4 pins in 8:48

Derby Invitational

Team scores: 1. Derby 181, 2. Branford 163, 3. Hamden Hall 99, 4. Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech 87.5, 5. Morgan 86.5, 6. Canton 80.5, 7. Gilbert 71, 8. Housatonic Valley 36, 9. Darien 39.

Championship match results

106: Josh Russell (De) maj. dec. Moonis Ansari (G) 18-6; 113: Patrick Miko (De) maj. dec. Nick Kelsey (B) 15-2; 120: Brian Taylor (M) dec. Tyler Dobek (De) 7-4; 126: Matt Perotti (HV) dec. Zach Cerreto (De) 10-8; 132: Mischak Potter-Riveara (LM/WT) dec. Mike Mauro (De) 10-8; 138: Edward Rivera (B) dec. Sebby Hernandez (De) 7-4; 145: Logan Smith (G) pinned Bryan Chervony (De) 5:37; 152: David Travisano (B) pinned Patrick Lawler 1:19; 160: Jonah Swett (LM/WT) pinned Matt Nicolari 4:56; 170: Alex Chiodo (HH) maj. dec. Ben Corbett (C) 18-8; 182: Duane Jones (De) pinned Jason Ranciato (HH) 1:19; 195: Chris Pantani (B) pinned Devin Glasson (C) 4:42; 220: Jorge Meralla (B) pinned Hunter Aiono (M) 51 seconds; 285: Austin Fries (B) pinned Quinten Permenter (C) 4:05.

Fastest Pin: Brian Taylor, Morgan, 14 seconds. Outstanding Wrestler: Logan Smith, Gilbert, 145