Voting got under way this morning at 6 a.m. in a referendum on education advocates' call to restore $800,000 to Fairfield's education budget for 2011-12.

To succeed, those voting "yes" -- in favor of restoring the $800,000 cut by the Representative Town Meeting -- must comprise 25 percent of the town's total registered voters, or 8,640 voters of roughly 34,500. The "yes" votes must also be in the majority.

Balloting is taking place at 10 polling stations across town until 8 p.m. The polling stations are:

District 1: Fairfield Senior Center, 100 Mona Terrace

District 2: Burr Elementary School, Burr Street (a change from the usual station at St. Pius School)

District 3: Dwight Elementary School, 1600 Redding Road

District 4: Osborn Hill School, 760 Stillson Road

District 5: McKinley School, 60 Thompson St.

District 6: Fairfield Warde High School, 755 Melville Ave.

District 7: North Stratfield School, 190 Putting Green Road

District 8: Holland Hill School, 200 Meadowcroft Road

District 9: Fairfield Ludlowe High School, 785 Unquowa Road

District 10: Sherman Elementary School, 250 Fern St.

If the effort to restore $800,000 to the approved education budget of $145.6 million succeeds, the Board of Finance has scheduled a special meeting Thursday to adjust the tax rate to reflect the additional spending. The new fiscal year starts July 1.

The Board of Education budget for the current fiscal year is $141.6 million.