Fairfield resident DeeDee Brandt, the Republican nominee for the state legislature's 133rd district, announced the Brandt 2010 campaign committee. The committee is composed of long-time members of the Fairfield and Westport community who have held a variety of leadership and elected positions.

"I am excited about the upcoming election," said Brandt. "My campaign committee is comprised of some of Fairfield's most committed, thoughtful, elected and civic leaders. I believe their expertise on town and state issues coupled with their intimate involvement in the community will provide tremendous value not only to our campaign but also when I am elected to the Connecticut House of Representatives."

Samuel J. Lazinger, Esq., a Fairfield resident, will be advising Brandt on both financial and public safety issues. Lazinger is the former chairman of the Fairfield Board of Finance and is a member of the Fairfield Police Commission.

"It has been my pleasure to work with DeeDee over many years. She is smart, tenacious and willing to stand on principle. We can all count on her to represent our best interests in Hartford," said Lazinger.

Joining Lazinger on the committee is Southport resident John Madeo, Esq., who is well-known for his advocacy work on education issues. Madeo, who served for many years on the Fairfield Board of Education and as that board's chairman, reflected on Brandt's public service record.

"I have known DeeDee for over 15 years and have worked with her on educational issues and other matters that make our community such a fine place to live," said Madeo. "DeeDee has always brought measured thoughtfulness in all of her years in public service and civic work. It is clear that we need new leadership in Hartford that understands that our public funds must be spent wisely and efficiently, and that they are elected to serve their constituency, not the other way around."

Brandt's campaign treasurer is Representative Town Meeting (RTM) member Mary McCullough (R-3). McCullough currently serves as the chairman of the RTM's Education and Recreation sub-committee and previously served as president of the Fairfield PTA Council and has held other leadership positions within the PTA.

"Mary and I have been friends for many years and I value her insight and experience," said Brandt. "Through her service in numerous PTA positions, Mary brings a wealth of educational experience and practical solutions to the campaign."

Additional members of the Brandt 2010 team include RTM member Edward Bateson who is also a board member of the Greenfield Hill Village Improvement Society and a former chairman of the Water Pollution Control Authority; Alexis Harrison, a three-term member of the RTM; RTM Member Carolyn Richmond; former Town Clerk Marguerite Toth; RTM member Kathryn Braun, Esq; Westport Republican Town Committee member Desiree Soli and former state Representative Catherine Tymniak (R-133). Tymniak is now a board member of both the Greenfield Hill Village Improvement Society and the Fairfield Museum and History Center.