FAIRFIELD — Voters will head to the polls Nov. 7 to cast ballots for a wide range of local offices, from the school board to constables. Not on the ballot this year are the Board of Selectmen and the town clerk.

The town’s 10 polling places will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m., and those who are unsure where to vote can call the Registrar of Voters Office or visit fairfieldct.org/wheredoivote to find their district and polling location.

Absentee ballots are available for those unable to get to the polls on Election Day because of a physical disability, absence from town during voting hours or religious tenets. Applications for an absentee ballot are available at the town clerk’s office, 611 Old Post Road. The office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and will also be open the Saturday before Election Day, Nov. 4, from 9 a.m. to noon for absentee ballots.

Voting by absentee ballot is a two-step process, with ballots issued after a signed application is received. Absentee ballots will only be issued in person to the actual voter; if the application is dropped off by someone else, the ballot will be mailed directly to the voter.

To be counted, absentee ballots must be received at the town clerk’s office by 8 p.m. on Election Day.

The last day to register to vote is Oct. 31, and the Registrar of Voters Office will be open until 8 p.m. that day. Registration may also be done online, with the registration submitted by midnight.

More Information

Candidates on 2017 ballot

Board of Assessment Appeals, full term, vote for two

Kathleen Griffin (D)

Harold Zawadski (D)

Trey Bickers (R)

Carol DePietro (R)

Board of Assessment Appeals, vacancy

William Burke (D)

Tassos Recachinas (R)

Town Plan and Zoning Commission, 4-year term, vote for two

Steven A. Levy (D)

Mark Corcoran (D)

Gerry Alessi (R)

Thomas Noonan (R)

Town Plan and Zoning Commission, 2-year term, vote for one

Donan Meyer (D)

Daniel C. Ford (R)

Town Plan and Zoning Commission alternates, vote for two

Fredda Gordon (D)

Peter Elliott (D)

Rich Grauer (R)

Michael DiGiacomo (R)

Zoning Board of Appeals, 4-year term, vote for one

Sharon Strelzer (D)

James Baldwin (R)

Zoning Board of Appeals, 2-year term, vote for one

Dan Landry (D)

Kevin Coyne (R)

Zoning Board of Appeals alternates, vote for two

Jane Gitlin Nishball (D)

Daphne Dixon (D)

Faith Dillon (R)

Charles Zysra (R)

Constables, vote for four

Kevin Flynn (D)

Jay Wolli (D)

Ruth Smey (D)

Charlene Lebo (D)

Mark Dunleavy (R)

Harry Ackley, Sr. (R)

Frank Rowe (R)

Joe Peddle (R)

Anyone who turns 18, becomes a U.S. citizen, or moved to Fairfield in the seven days before Election Day may register to vote up until Nov. 6. The registrar’s office will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Anyone who misses those deadlines can register and vote on Election Day at Old Town Hall, 611 Old Post Road.

This year, voters will cast ballots for the 40-member Representative Town Meeting, the Board of Education, the Board of Finance, the Town Plan and Zoning Commission, the Zoning Board of Appeals, the Board of Assessment Appeals and constables. Sample ballots for each district can be found at the registrar of voters page on the town website.

The town’s polling places are as follows:

District 1, Dwight School, 1600 Redding Road

District 2, St. Pius School, 834 Brookside Drive

District 3, Fairfield Woods Middle School, 1115 Fairfield Woods Road

District 4, Stratfield School, 1407 Melville Ave.

District 5, Fairfield Warde High School, 755 Melville Ave.

District 6, McKinley School, 60 Thompson St.

District 7, Holland Hill School, 105 Meadowcroft Road

District 8, Fairfield Ludlowe High School, 785 Unquowa Road

District 9, Sherman School, 250 Fern St.

District 10, Mill Hill School, 635 Mill Hill Terrace

The League of Women Voters has put together an online voter guide that can be accessed via VOTE411.org. The guide includes registration information as well as information on local candidates and races.