Two teams of advanced-placement physics students from Fairfield Warde High School recently won awards in a competition between 50 teams at the annual Yale Physics Olympics at Yale University.

The "Projectile" team, including students Oliver Sawin, Kei Nishimura-Gasparian, Neil Gade and Hyunsoo Kim, took second place overall in the contest, according to Dave Henry, a Warde physics teacher who brought the team to the competition.

The team also took first place in one out of five individual events.

Team "Equilibrium," a second Warde team including Tong Liu, Caleb Bailey, John Dyer and Nicole Beinstein, also placed first in an individual contest.