Four Fairfield high school students are the recipients of a $2,500 scholarship awarded through the Connecticut Higher Education Trust program.

They are seniors Liam Farrell, Erin McCurley, Gregory Poore and Reagan Walker.

State Treasurer Denise L. Nappier announced the newly created awards to 200 high school seniors statewide. A ceremony honoring the winners was held Oct. 30 in Hartford.

"CHET Advance Scholarship will help these students meet the ever-rising costs of higher education, and allow them to spend less time worrying about how to pay for college and more time focused on getting into college and staying in college," Nappier said in a press release.

Winners were randomly selected from a pool of 3,635 applicants in Connecticut. To ensure winners from across the state, there are 40 winners from each of Connecticut's five congressional districts.

Plans are underway to roll out the second phase of CHET Advance Scholarship during the next calendar year for younger students as well, with a portion of the scholarship winners chosen based on need and scholastic achievement. Altogether, CHET Advance Scholarship plans to distribute a total of more than $2 million during the next four years.

For more information about CHET, visit or call the customer service center at 866-314-3939.