Fairfield voters back Dem victors in presidential, U.S. Senate and House races

Fairfield voters Tuesday mirrored trends for top national and state offices on the ballot, according to unofficial figures.

Although three members of the town's state legislative delegation will be Republicans, Democrats scored local victories in the contests for president, U.S. Senate and House, as well as one state House of Representatives district.

In the race for president, President Barack Obama and running mate, Vice President Joe Biden, beat the Republican ticket of Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan in Fairfield by a tally of 15,282 votes to 14,352.

In the hard-fought contest for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by retiring Joe Lieberman, Democratic U.S. Rep. Chris Murphy edged former wrestling executive Linda McMahon, the Republican, by a vote of 14,423 to 14,012.

U.S. Rep. Jim Himes, the Democrat seeking election to a third term in the 4th Congressional District, outdistanced Republican challenger Steve Obsitnik in Fairfield with a vote of 15,797 to 12,740.

Local voters also returned the four members of the town's delegation to the state General Assembly for new terms: Brenda Kupchick, Republican, in the 132nd House District; Kim Fawcett, Democrat, 133rd House District; Tony Hwang, Republican, 134th House District, and John McKinney, Republican, unopposed in the 28th Senate District.