The Republican Town Committee gave Selectman Kevin Kiley a standing ovation Tuesday night, but gave its endorsement for the Nov. 3 election to his challenger, Laurie McArdle.

Meanwhile, the GOP endorsed Representative Town Meeting member Chris Tymniak, who had endorsed McArdle prior to the caucus, to run for first selectman.

In the only contest at the GOP’s nominating convention, McArdle beat Kiley by a two-to-one margin. Serving her first term on the Representative Town Meeting, McArdle received 44 votes for the selectman’s slot to Kiley’s 22 votes.

Kiley has served in town government posts for more than 20 years — first on the RTM, and then for 15 years on the Board of Finance, before being appointed to fill a vacancy on the Board of Selectmen in 2012.

Following Tuesday’s vote — limited to only Republican Town Committee members, and not party rank and file as in the past — Kiley declined to comment on whether he would try to qualify for a primary to retain the post.

“I respect the democratic process and the rules of the party,” Kiley said. “Tonight, the duly elected members of the Fairfield Republican Town Committee voted to move the party in another direction.”

Tymniak and McArdle are expected to face First Selectman Michael Tetreau and Selectman Sheila Marmion in the Nov. 3 municipal election. The Democrats will endorse Tetreau and Marmion at its caucus Thursday, with no announced opposition to their nominations.

“It will be interesting to see how things work out during the general election and, as always, I wish nothing by the best for the town I have served so long,” Kiley said.

Addressing the crowd after the voting, Tymniak said there have been close to 44 years of Tymniaks involved in the town government. His father, Paul, served as a town attorney in the Jacky Durrell administration and later as a state representative. When Paul Tymniak passed away, his wife Catherine was elected to the seat.

More Information


Candidates endorsed by the Republican Town Committee for townwide offices in November include:

First Selectman: Christopher Tymniak

Selectman: Laurie McArdle

Town Clerk: Betsy Browne

Board of Finance, 4-year term: James B. Brown, James Walsh

Board of Finance, 2-year term: Edward Bateson

Board of Education, 4-year term: Laura Bernaschina, Anthony Calabrese, Patricia Donavan, Jason Li, Trisha Pytko

Board of Assessment Appeals, 4-year term: Helene Daly

Town Plan and Zoning Commission, 4-year term: Meg Francis, Matthew C. Wagner

Town Plan and Zoning Commission, 2-year term: Jaci Coleman

Town Plan and Zoning Commission alternate, 2-year term: Thomas Noonan

Zoning Board of Appeals, 4-year term: Terrance Keegan, Deborah Owens

Zoning Board of Appeals, 2-year term: Kevin Coyne

Constable: Harry Ackley, Mark Dunlevy, Joseph Peddle, Francis Rowe

“I am proud to carry on that tradition,” Tymniak said. “I am a candidate who has the right experience as a 14-year government professional. I am a candidate able to lead from day one.”

Tymniak, who represents RTM District 9, until recently had been city administrator in Ansonia, and previously was director of former Gov. Jodi Rell’s southwest office.