FAIRFIELD — Steven Sheinberg has been elected as the new chairman of the Fairfield Democratic Town Committee.

Sheinberg, elected to succeed Heather Dean in the post at Monday’s town committee meeting, has organized Democrats’ election operations over the past several years. He was the recipient of the Democrats’ Young Turk award in 2015 for contributions to the local Democratic Party.

“I am honored and humbled to serve as your chairman,” Sheinberg said in a statement issued by the Democrats. “I look forward to working with all of you to continue to elect Democrats in our town, state and nation who will reflect our values, supporting strong schools, maintaining services and being fiscally responsible.”

Sheinberg is an independent employee benefits consultant and broker with Planned Benefits Inc.

Sheila Marmion, a former selectman, was elected to serve as the town committee’s vice chairwoman. Marmion, who lost her bid for the selectman’s seat in last November’s election, previously served three terms as a member of the Representative Town Meeting, and currently works as an occupational therapist specializing in geriatrics.

Mark Corcoran was re-elected as the town committee’s treasurer, and Dean, who continues to serve as an RTM member, was elected as recording secretary. Elizabeth Zezima, also a member of the RTM, was re-appointed corresponding secretary.