Fairfield voters today cast ballots Tuesday for the town's top offices, as well as the legislative body and five municipal boards and commissions.

Running for first selectman and selectman on the Democratic ticket are interim First Selectman Michael Tetreau and Cristin McCarthy Vahey; while the GOP ticket is led by Robert Bellitto Jr. and Selectman James Walsh. The Independent Party standardbearers are Hugh Dolan and Deanne Polizzo.

Town Clerk Betsy Browne, a Republican, is unopposed for a third term.

Voters will elect candidates to seats on the Board of Finance, and five on the Board of Education. On the Board of Assessment Appeals there is one four-year term open and a two-year vacacncy. On the Town Plan and Zoning Commission, ballots can be cast for two four-year seats, one two-year term and a two-year alternate vacancy. For the Zoning Board of Appeals, ballots can be cast for two four-year terms, one two-year term and one two-year alternate vacancy.

There also are nine candidates for constable; vote for any four.

All of the Representative Town Meeting's 50 seats are up for grabs and voters can choose any five in their home voting district.


There were a total of 35,273 residents eligible to vote in Tuesday's election as of Thursday morning, though registration continues through Monday.

Of those eligible, 10,064 have registered as Democrats and 10,404 as Republicans. The largest group -- 14,627 voters -- is unaffiliated with a political party, while 178 voters are registered with minor parties.


The polls are open today from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. For those uncertain which polling station is the correct one to cast a ballot, visit www.fairfieldct.org/voter.htm and use the online street guide, or call the Registrars of Voters office at 203-256-3115.

Fairfield polling stations are:

District 1: Fairfield Senior Center, 100 Mona Terrace

District 2: St. Pius X School, 824 Brookside Drive

District 3: Dwight Elementary School, 1600 Redding Road

District 4: Osborn Hill School, 760 Stillson Road

District 5: McKinley School, 60 Thompson St.

District 6: Fairfield Warde High School, 755 Melville Ave.

District 7: North Stratfield School, 190 Putting Green Road

District 8: Holland Hill School, 200 Meadowcroft Road

District 9: Fairfield Ludlowe High School, 785 Unquowa Road

District 10: Sherman Elementary School, 250 Fern St.