Freshman Charles Kane won the 126-pound weight class and teammate Amed Hourani captured the 285-pound crown to lead Fairfield Warde to second place at the Class L wrestling championships Saturday at Bristol Central.

The Mustangs finished with 189 points, just behind champion New Milford's 192.5. Fairfield Ludlowe was eighth with 102 points.

Fairfield Warde also got runner-up spots from Dan Ebert (120), Dylan Bender (138), Philip Neamontis (145) and Thomas Anania (170), while Pharoah Eaton placed third at 132 pounds.

Fairfield Ludlowe got a third-place finish from Ben Batulanon at 113, while George Wales was fourth (106) and Ben Brzoski sixth at 182. Each qualified for this weekend's State Open.

Warde coach Jason Shaughnessy had mixed feelings about the close finish.

"It's tough to swallow, coming that close and not winning it," he said. "But you have to keep it all in perspective. There were a lot of different things that happened that could have changed the outcome, but of the six wrestlers who made the finals for us, five are underclassmen."

The Falcons' finish was their best since 2008, when Ludlowe placed sixth. Ludlowe coach Nick Garoffolo admitted it wasn't the Falcons' best showing.

"We had a very good tournament but kind of faded in the consolation rounds," Garoffolo said. "We lacked the experience to finish ... as the competition got tougher and tougher."

CLASS L wrestling

at Bristol Central

Team scores: 1. New Milford 192.5, 2. Fairfield Warde 189, 3. Farmington 186, 4. Newington 165, 5. Hand 150.5, 6. Bristol Central 118.5, 7. Bristol Eastern 105, 8. Fairfield Ludlowe 102, 9. Middletown 99, 10. Pomperaug 83, 11. Conard 80, 12. Wethersfield 70.5, 13. Immaculate/Barlow 70, 14. Maloney 66.5, 15. Norwalk 57.5, 16. Windsor 50, 17. New Canaan 41, 18. RHAM 39, 19. Wilton 37, 20. Masuk 36, 21. (tie) E.O. Smith and East Lyme 35, 23. Fitch 31, 24. Harding 10, 25. Darien 6, 26. Kennedy 4.

Individual results

Championship match results and regional finishers among top six

106: championship: Matthew Elias (Hand) dec. Halim Bourjeli (New Milford) 6-3; third: Joshua Wilson (Bristol Eastern) dec. George Wales (Fairfield Ludlowe) 6-4; 113: championship: Kyle Lindner (New Milford) dec. Kareem Small (East Lyme) 12-8; third: Ben Batulanon (Fairfield Ludlowe) dec. Justin Griffin (Pomperaug) 9-3; 120: championship: Brian Amato (Newington) dec. Dan Ebert (Fairfield Warde) 2-1; third: Bryan Rojas (New Milford) pinned George Sticca (Farmington) 3:20; fifth: Frankie Hogan (New Canaan) dec. Daniel Walsh (Conard) 7-3; 126: championship: Charles Kane (Fairfield Warde) dec. Peyton Soucy (Bristol Eastern) 6-3; third: Emmet Lacastri (Immaculate/Barlow) dec. Niko Stefanatos (New Milford) 6-3; fifth: Kevin Hall (New Canaan) dec. Brendan Zotti (Newington) 5-3; 132: championship: Tyler Burrow (Bristol Central) maj. dec. Garrett Hastings (Farmington) 13-4; third: Pharoah Eaton (Fairfield Warde) pinned Nathan Roy (Middletown) 2:10; 138: championship: Christian Zotti (Newington) dec. Dylan Bender (Fairfield Warde) 2-1; third: Evan Reisch (Norwalk) maj. dec. Eric Gadski (Pomperaug) 9-1; fifth: Brett Leonard (New Milford) pinned Jordan Nadimi (Bristol Central) 4:20; 145: championship: Ryan Rigney (Farmington) dec. Philip Neamontis (Fairfield Warde) 2-1; third: Kenny Philipson (New Canaan) dec. Andrew Sakamoto (Wilton) 3-0; fifth: Louis Alhage (New Milford) dec. Nick Civitello (Pomperaug) 2-1; 152: championship: Lucas Muntz (Conard) dec. Kameron Bradshaw (New Milford) 6-0; third: Anthony Ryan (Pomperaug) dec. Jacob Grasis (Middletown) 1-0; 160: championship: Benjamin Onofrio (Hand) dec. Cody Carrillo (Middletown) 5-2; third: Jordan Kenyon (Fitch) maj. dec. Otton Velez (Masuk) 9-1; fifth: Michael Calo (Pomperaug) dec. Glenn Pierce (Bristol Central) 7-4; 170: championship: Christopher Chorzepa (Newington) maj. dec. Thomas Anania (Fairfield Warde) 18-8; 182: championship: Jimmy McDunnah (Wethersfield) dec. Kevin Wivell (Hand) 3-2; third: Gino Rafaniello (Bristol Central) won by forfeit over Nery Ceron (Norwalk); fifth: Michael Berlandy (Farmington) pinned Ben Brzoski (Fairfield Ludlowe) 2:45; 195: championship: Steven Ghossaini (Immaculate/Barlow) dec. Cy McIntosh (Bristol Central) 3-1; fifth: Salvatore Longo (Masuk) maj. dec. Thomas McIlveen (New Milford) 14-2; 220: championship: Robert Tozzi (New Milford) dec. Travis Salois (RHAM) 3-2; 285: championship: Amed Hourani (Fairfield Warde) dec. Brandon Marquis (Farmington) 7-3.